Forum Thread: Newbie Steampunk Here!

I'm fairly new to the culture of steampunk, having just joined the Olympia Gaslight Guardians, and I'm looking for tips on a steampunk Sniper outfit.

What I plan on modding into my rifle of choice is a Nerf Longshot CS-6

My outfit as it stands is an old black trench coat I own, a white dress shirt and black vest and a bow tie (because bow ties are cool)

I was thinking of modifying a pair of swimming goggles, or maybe these odd Eye-Clops nightvision goggles I have into sniping goggles

Also, I already have a hat, A black trilby with a silver band.

8 Responses

Hey, welcome aboard!

My first word of caution is about the trench coat. Is it a long coat, or an actual trench coat? Because trench coats are from well after the period we usually associate with Steampunk. I mean, we're not usually going for historical accuracy, here, but trench coats are so strongly associated with the 1930's-1940's for many people that it might have an impact on how they perceive your costume. So my first advice is to use a duster, rather than a trench coat. Dusters were very common in the Victorian era, and have a great look to them.